You are logged in as


This website uses cookies to distinguish you from other users. This helps us to provide you with a good user experience and also allows us to improve our website. More information

Facebook Old Cols College

Academic successes

Regulus // Issue 3 // November 2022

More news for Academic

Year 9 StAC1 team of Luke Manson, Matthew Bluck, Joshua Exon and Alex Manson


At the Year 9–10 Cantamath competition, the Year 9 StAC1 team of Matthew Bluck, Joshua Exon, Alex Manson, and Luke Manson were the only Year 9 team to get a golden ticket, with their score of 100 seeing them crowned Year 9 champions.


The St Andrew’s A chess team defended the Interschool Chess Championship the College won last year, after beating St Bede’s College A in the final. Gavith Dharmasena (Year 12) and Kian Dharmasena (Year 11) won all their games at boards 1 and 2.


James Hart, Isobel Forsey and Megan Simpson (all Year 11) achieved second place in the Year 11 ARA Chemistry Competition.

Creative Writing

Lucas Te Rangi (Year 12) was one of nine runners-up of the National Schools Poetry Award 2022.

Emily Edwards (Year 10) was first in the Youth Section of the prestigious Vancouver Haiku Invitational International Cherry Blossom Haiku Competition, with her haiku blossom whisper, which was an outstanding achievement. Daniel Officer (Year 10), Hanxi (Cicy) Chen (Year 8) and Eddison Keith (Year 5) won Sakura Awards, while Fred McRae (Year 11), Maria (Masha) Pospolitak (Year 10) and Tomasz (Tom) Clark (Year 3) received Honourable Mentions.

Friederica (Freddy) Todhunter (Year 12) was second in the Haiku Junior section with her haiku, trout leaps at the Poetry New Zealand International Poetry Competition 2022.

The following students received Editor’s Choice Awards in the New Zealand Poetry Society International Poetry Competition 2022:

  • Haiku: Jack Stevenson (Year 11), Penny Dai (Year 10) and Wenjin (Katie) Zhang (Year 13);
  • Open Poetry: Katie Foot (Year 9) and Angus Foster (Year 9).

William Crawford, Georgia Lewis, Chloe Lowe, Emily Brook, Luca Rose (all Year 9) and Anthony Kutovoy (Year 10) were finalists in the U16 category of the National Poetry Day 2022 Given Words Poetry Competition.

Matthew Cartwright (Year 13) was awarded an Editor’s Choice Award in the Open Poetry section of the New Zealand Poetry Society International Poetry Competition 2022 with his poem, Cook’s Beach.

At the Waitaha English Steve Langley Flash Fiction Competition 2022, Charlotte Bull (Year 10) was first, and Penny Dai (Year 10) was second in the Years 10–11 category. Cindy Xiong (Year 13) was first in the Years 12–13 category.

Chantelle Xiong (Year 11) was first in the Year 11 category in the Poetry Aotearoa Secondary Schools’ Poetry Award. Her poem, Aged, will be published in the Poetry Aotearoa Yearbook 2023.


Liam Hackston, James Hart (both Year 11) and Katherine Simcock (Year 10) were runners-up at the Canterbury Schools’ Junior Regional Debating Tournament. Liam and Katherine both earned one of the competition’s five Highly Commended Speaker Awards.


The following students passed their International DELF French examination, an official French language diploma awarded by France’s Ministry of National Education. Emily Keith (Year 12) achieved the highest score in Canterbury for the B1 examination.

  • Level A1: James Anthony, Fraser Balasingam, George Paterson, Elia Short, Katherine Simcock (all Year 10);
  • Level A2: Isobel Forsey, Jenna Howell, Brooke Hughes, Billie Revis (all Year 11), Sophie Hayden, Vivien Kuziel (both Year 12);
  • Level B1: Emily Keith, Radha Vallabh (both Year 12), Skye Atkins, Thomas Kamo (both Year 13).

Future Problem Solving

A group of 18 St Andrew’s students qualified for the Future Problem Solving National Finals in November. They are Rhys Seath (Year 5), Benjamin Edward, Louis Hyland, Emmett Lawler (all Year 6), Alexander Allan, Alexa Collis, Alyssa Geddes, Sophie Schouten (all Year 7), Hanxi (Cicy) Chen, Silvia Sanderson, Fraser Walls, Anton Zhang, RuoLin (Lauren) Li (all Year 8), Matthew Bluck, Alex Manson, Luke Manson, Toby Wilson, Hannah Withers (all Year 9).

History Scholarship

Bella Gibbons (Year 13) won the 2022 Lodge of Endeavour Scholarship, worth $3000, for her History research on the impact of the Māori Language Act 1987.


The St Andrew’s College 1 team, of Niamh McNeill, Logan Scott and Fraser Walls (all Year 8), won first place at the Canterbury Heat of the Kids’ Lit Quiz

Physics and Mathematics

The following students finished in the top 10 at the New Zealand Physics and Mathematics Competition (NZPMC). The top three placegetters received medals, with Aaron Moore (Year 11) also awarded the South Island Junior Division trophy for placing first.

  • South Island Junior Division: Aaron Moore first, James Hart fourth, Bryan Cooper seventh (all Year 11), Luke Manson (Year 9) tenth;
  • South Island Senior Division: Luke Zhu (Year 13) second, Gemma Lewis (Year 12) seventh.

Mia Fraser, Gemma Lewis, Annika MacDonald, and Lachlan Odlin (all Year 12)

Year 12 Mathematics Competition

The St Andrew’s team of Mia Fraser, Gemma Lewis, Annika MacDonald, and Lachlan Odlin won the CMA Year 12 Mathematics Competition. These students have been in the same mathematics team since Year 9.

We highlight the most recent Academic Successes of our students.