Rich history of the Houses – Rutherford House
1 August 2025

REGULUS // ISSUE 2 // AUGUST 2025
As St Andrew’s celebrates 100 years since Rector A K Anderson started the very first House Competitions at the College in 1925, with two houses for boarders Strowan and Rutherford, and two for dayboys, Erwin and Thompson, it is great opportunity to be reminded about the history of each House, and the men behind each of their names.
In 1982, the House Competition system was reorganised by Rector Dr John Rentoul, who replaced the name Strowan with Thompson, and ensured there was a mix of boarding and day students across each of the Houses. Today students continue to have a deep sense of identity and pride in their House, with the friendly rivalry between the Houses as they take part in various sports and activities in a bid to win the coveted House Cup, a key aspect of the St Andrew’s College experience for all students.
Rutherford House
In addition to being a competition House, Rutherford House is also a boarding house for boys from Years 11–13. It was named after one of our first major bequestors, Duncan Rutherford, who enabled the College to purchase Strowan House and its grounds.
Rutherford was born in South Australia and came to New Zealand when he was seven. He was a successful, generous runholder in North Canterbury and a founder of the Hanmer Springs township and its hospital. Rutherford left a generous gift of $5000 to the College in his will around the same time the Stead family put their property Strowan Park on the market. This enabled St Andrew’s College to find its home in 1917.
Duncan Rutherford is remembered in a variety of ways throughout the College, including the 1917 Society – a special group through which we recognise all those who have chosen to make a gift to the College through their will. His legacy continues to live on, not only through our school, but also through the people who share his generosity of spirit.
Related Posts