Rich history of the Houses – Erwin House

1 August 2025

The Very Reverend Dr Robert Erwin, who was the first Chairman of the St Andrew’s College Board.

REGULUS // ISSUE 2 // AUGUST 2025

As St Andrew’s celebrates 100 years since Rector A K Anderson started the very first House Competitions at the College in 1925, with two houses for boarders Strowan and Rutherford, and two for dayboys, Erwin and Thompson, it is great opportunity to be reminded about the history of each House, and the men behind each of their names.

In 1982, the House Competition system was reorganised by Rector Dr John Rentoul, who replaced the name Strowan with Thompson, and ensured there was a mix of boarding and day students across each of the Houses. Today students continue to have a deep sense of identity and pride in their House, with the friendly rivalry between the Houses as they take part in various sports and activities in a bid to win the coveted House Cup, a key aspect of the St Andrew’s College experience for all students.

Erwin House

Erwin House was named after The Very Reverend Dr Robert Erwin, who was the first Chairman of the St Andrew’s College Board. He was regarded as a man of flawless integrity, visionary ideas, great knowledge, and biblical commitment.

Erwin was born in Belfast, Northern Ireland, and emigrated to New Zealand in 1882, where he was licensed to the Auckland Presbytery. After a brief time at Papatoetoe, he accepted a call to the North Belt Church in Christchurch, now known as Knox Church.

As Board Chairman, Erwin guided the College from its inception in 1917 until 1931, and he was also College Chaplain for much of this time, leaving a lasting mark on the school. While students may have found his Scripture lessons a bit dry, there is no denying that Robert Erwin’s seasoned wisdom and resolute leadership made the College grow and prosper.

Related Posts